Seniors

Exhibition on ‘Macao’s Role in the Spread of Western Printing Technology across the East’ to be held in May

2019-04-25
Senado Library

In celebration of the 20th anniversary of the establishment of Macao SAR, the Macao Public Library of the Cultural Affairs Bureau will host an exhibition on ‘Macao’s Role in the Spread of Western Printing Technology across the East’ at the Senado Library (Municipal Affairs Bureau Building, No. 163, Av. de Almeida Ribeiro) from 18 May to 15 June this year, including a lecture and a guided tour to be held at 3pm on 18 May as well. The activities will be conducted in Cantonese and admission is free for all who wish to participate.

 

Chinese wooden moveable-type printing originated during the Song Dynasty and was taken to Europe through the Silk Road, where German inventor Johannes Gutenberg transformed it into ‘leaden moveable-type printing’. The technology was then brought to Macao by Western missionaries through the maritime routes during the ‘Age of Exploration’, after which native Macanese and Chinese people as well as British, American and French missionaries residing in Macao combined efforts to create the ‘leaden moveable-type Chinese characters’. This brought improvements to leaden moveable-type printing for both Chinese and Western characters, and led to its popularity in China after the opening-up of the five ports for foreign trade. The purpose of this exhibition is to look into Macao’s role, achievements and contributions in the spread of Western printing technology by showcasing dozens of rare books and periodicals held by the Macao Public library which are related to this subject.

 

The key speaker of the lecture is Dr. Lee Shuk Yee (Stella), holder of a Ph.D. in Literature and Art from the Jinan University, in Guangzhou, currently a researcher of rare books in foreign languages at the Macao Public Library. Dr. Lee regularly introduces the said collections of the Library online and published Collision and Exchange: A Synopsis of Rare Books in Foreign Languages in Macao Central Library in 2013.

 

The exhibition will be open from 18 May to 15 June from 1:00p.m. to 8:00p.m. (excluding on Sundays and public holidays). Registration to the lecture can be made online at www.icm.gov.mo/eform/event/c/5 or by phone though tel. 28930077 during office hours (excluding Mondays before 2:00p.m.). For details please refer to the Macao Public Library website at www.library.gov.mo.

長者

“澳門在西方印刷術東傳中的角色”展覽五月中旬舉行

2019-04-25
議事亭藏書樓

為慶祝澳門特區成立20周年,文化局公共圖書館將於2019年5月18至6月 15日在議事亭藏書樓(新馬路163號市政署大樓)舉辦 “澳門在西方印刷術東傳中的角色”展覽,並在5月18日下午3時舉辦相關講座及展覽導賞,活動以廣東話進行,免費入場,歡迎有興趣人士參加。

中國木活字印刷術源於宋代,經絲綢之路輾轉傳至歐洲,由德國人古騰堡改造成“鉛活字壓印”,再由西方傳教士,經“地理大發現”的航海路線將活字印刷術傳入澳門。落戶澳門的土生葡人以及華人與當時居澳的英美法傳教士合力製做“鉛漢活字”,將洋漢鉛活字印刷術進一步改良,使之在五口通商後,得以在華開花結果。這次活動,旨在透過展出澳門公共圖書館廳所藏與主題相關的數十種珍貴古籍及報刊,探討澳門在西方印刷術東傳過程中扮演的角色、成就和貢獻。

是次講座主講者李淑儀博士為廣州暨南大學文藝學博士,現為澳門公共圖書館外文古籍研究員,定期在網上介紹外文古籍藏書,並於2013年發表《碰撞與交流:澳門中央圖書館外文古籍提要》專書。

展期由2019年5月18至6月 15日,開放時間為下午1 至 8時(星期日及公眾假期除外),講座可透過網頁www.icm.gov.mo/eform/event/c/5報名,或於辦公時間致電電 28930077(星期一上午至下午2時除外),詳情可瀏覽澳門公共圖書館網頁www.library.gov.mo。