New Central Library Project

Case Studies of Overseas Libraries

Located on Fifth Avenue, the busiest artery in Manhattan, the New York Public Library served as the backdrop for the movie The Day After Tomorrow. In addition to providing reading services, the Library holds a great number of free activities every year, including activities for children, young people and the elderly.
Year of Completion :1911
Library Website       :https://www.nypl.org/

 

Located in a prime area of ​​Seattle, on Fourth Avenue, the Seattle Public Library was listed by the American Institute of Architects as one of Americans’ 150 favourite structures. In addition to serving a local population of approximately 650,000, the Library also attracts visitors from all over the world.

Year of Completion : 2004
Library Website       : https://www.spl.org/

 

The Library Square, located in downtown Vancouver, occupies an entire block in the city centre. The Vancouver Central Library includes a café, a souvenir shop and a convenience store, while the square outside the Library serves as a meeting place for residents.
Year of Completion : 1995
Library Website       : http://www.vpl.ca/branches/details/central_library

 

Located in downtown Birmingham, the Library of Birmingham is currently the largest public library in Europe. Nowadays, it is a social centre combining study, information and culture in a single complex. The Library’s renovation received great support from local citizens and the local government and is also known as the “People’s Palace”.
Year of Completion : 2013
Library Website       : http://www.libraryofbirmingham.com/

 

With a population of less than 500,000, Liverpool boasts one of the most beautiful libraries in the world, established in an old renovated building: the Liverpool Library. This library preserves the original outer spaces, with stairs that run through the large span extending from the atrium to the top floor - the most distinctive mark of the library - providing a direct connection to all floors, bookshelves and reading areas. The 13th century rare book special collection (with 15,000 volumes) is stored in the original library (Hornby Library and Oak Room) and a local document archive is also available, with a collection of books dedicated to Liverpool, including local celebrities, events and districts.
Year of Completion : 2013
Library Website       : http://liverpool.gov.uk/libraries/find-a-library/central-library/

 

The Stuttgart City Library won the Library of the Year Award in 2013. Its fully open design allows readers to climb directly onto the terrace to enjoy a beautiful view of the city. The building is particularly distinctive for presenting a large cubic structure and the library corridors are open to allow access to all bookshelves and reading rooms. The library also includes a “Library for Insomniacs”, allowing the 600,000 inhabitants of the city to rent movies and CDs 24 hours a day.
Year of Completion : 2011
Library Website       : http://www1.stuttgart.de/stadtbibliothek/

 

Located in downtown Helsinki, with easy access to the city’s excellent transport system, the future Helsinki Central Library will offer everyone a public space, becoming a window for this creative city.
Estimated Year of Completion : 2018
Library Website                        : http://keskustakirjasto.fi/en/

 

This library consists of a large open space with no walls. Architect Toyo Ito drew inspiration from the concept of Minna no Mori (“Everyone’s Forest”) to design and offer the 410,000 inhabitants of Gifu the most beautiful library. Eleven 8-14m wide giant lampshades cover the different functional areas, allowing readers of different ages and cultural contexts to find their own reading space.
Year of Completion : 2015
Library Website       : https://g-mediacosmos.jp/lib/

新中央图书馆计划

外地图书馆案例

纽约市公共图书馆主馆位于最繁华的曼哈顿第五大道上,邻近购物街和多个景点,也是电影《明日之后》(The day after tomorrow)的取景地点。除了提供阅览服务,每年还会举办多个免费活动,对象包括幼儿、青少年和老人家。
落成年份    :1911年
图书馆网址 :https://www.nypl.org/

 

伯明翰图书馆位于伯明翰市中心,是迄今欧洲最大的公共图书馆,也是一个集学习、信息和文化于一体的社交中心。由于重建工程得到当地的市民和政府大力支持,所以伯明翰图书馆又称为"人民的宫殿"(People's Palace)。
落成年份    :2013年
图书馆网址   :http://www.libraryofbirmingham.com/

 

利物浦市人口不到50万,却拥有被誉为世界上其中一个最美丽改装建筑的图书馆──利物浦图书馆。这间馆保留原有的外部空间,由地下到顶楼的大厅挑空后,增设楼梯可直达各层的书库及阅览区,挑空的设计为该馆最有特色的空间。馆内的13世纪古籍特藏(15,000册)保存于原有的书库(Hornby Library and Oak Room),另特设利物浦市名人、事件、地区等地方文献馆。
落成年份   :2013年
图书馆网址   :http://liverpool.gov.uk/libraries/find-a-library/central-library/

 

斯图加特市立图书馆在2013年荣获“年度图书馆奬”。全开放式设计让读者可直上屋顶天台,饱览全市景色。巨大立方体为其设计特色,环型中空的内部结构以开放式走廊连接各层区,楼梯成为可通往各区书架和阅览室的环迴要道,读者还可以一览整个图书馆佈局。馆内设有“失眠人的图书馆”专区,24小时为市内60万人提供电影与CD租借服务。
落成年份   :2011年
图书馆网址   :http://www1.stuttgart.de/stadtbibliothek/

 

赫尔辛基中央图书馆位于城市的中心,邻近优良的交通运输系统,将为所有人提供一个公共空间,并作为这个创意城市的窗口。
落成年份    :预计2018年落成
图书馆网址   :http://keskustakirjasto.fi/en/

 

这是一个不设墙的大开放空间。设计师伊东豊雄以“大家的森林”为设计理念,为41万岐阜市民设计出全市最漂亮的图书馆。通过11个直径8-14米的倒扣漏斗形状的大型灯罩来划分不同的功能区域,使不同年龄层和文化背景的读者拥有属于自己的阅读空间。
落成年份    :2015年
图书馆网址   :https://g-mediacosmos.jp/lib/