FAQ

FAQ

 There are currently many libraries in Macao. Why build a New Central Library?

Answer:

 The Macao public library system consists of 17 libraries, including the Macao Central Library, located at Tap Seac Square. In fact, at the level of its scale, this library is actually a community library, containing a limited collection lacking in diversity and essentially serving the citizens that live nearby. In functional terms, the New Central Library will be quite different.

 What is the difference between a community library and a central library?

Answer:

 Community libraries are rooted in communities, serving primarily the residents of the community in which they are located. In turn, the Central Library is meant to serve the entire population of Macao, not only providing basic library services, but also supporting community libraries, coordinating Macao Public Library resources and fulfilling its mission by promoting social development and the preservation of the city’s memory.

 After the establishment of the New Central Library, will community libraries be closed down?

Answer:

 As they both serve different roles, existing community libraries will continue to function and serve citizens. Both will coordinate with each other in order to complement each other at the functional level.

 What are the limitations of the current Macao Public Library? What will change with the New Central Library?

Answer:

 Due to the insufficient space, the library’s collection is currently spread over several community libraries and rental book repositories in industrial buildings, which prevents services from being provided in a comprehensive and convenient way for readers. With regard to Macao documents, these only have one small storage room, which makes it difficult to develop a “Macao Deposit Library”. With this in view, it is hoped that the New Central Library will be able to solve these problems.

 More and more readers prefer reading by means of electronic resources. Why build a New Central Library?

Answer:

 Providing printed or electronic reading materials is only one function of the libraries. Large modern libraries are also responsible for other functions, including conservation and restoration of books and documents, conducting reference studies, digitizing documents, offering multimedia material, organizing cultural exchanges, urban hall, urban memory, organizing exhibitions, offering leisure spaces, among others. Only a large central library can cater to all these needs.

 What criteria was based on when selecting the New Central Library site?

Answer:

 The Macao SAR Government has taken a series of international indicators and studies as reference to select the New Central Library site, determining that it should be located in the city centre, for readers’ convenience and for flexibility purposes, in order to create a space conducive to adjustable and sustainable development; the land plot should also be square-shaped, in order to facilitate the organization and management of the functional areas within the library. In addition to meeting the above criteria, the Old Court Building is also of profound historical and cultural significance.

 Were the traffic problems around the Old Court Building addressed?

Answer:

 The New Central Library is located in the city centre. As a result, the site is equipped with an extensive public transportation network, with four nearby car parks (1,600 car parking spaces and 770 motorcycle parking spaces available) as well as a number of hourly rental car parks in commercial buildings (including the New Yaohan and the AIA Tower). Over 30 bus lines are also available, and a future Macao LRT station will also be located close by, making the site very accessible. In fact, the traffic problem in this area is a problem that requires a global solution. It does not result from the construction of the New Central Library. Our society is in the process of evolving, so necessary adjustments must be made to respond to these developments.

 How was the 900 million patacas budget to build the New Central Library estimated?

Answer:

 The New Central Library construction project will be guided by the principle of simplicity, valuing “quality” rather than “luxury”. The estimated construction costs, based on the principles of professionalism and objectivity, are being calculated according to the market prices for public works projects of the Macao SAR Government, namely on the prices for 2015 (MOP 23,000 per square meter), to which an annual inflation rate of approximately 5% was added. The budget for other elements, such as furniture and equipment, can only be calculated after the completion of the design development.

 What kind of facilities and collection will be available at the New Central Library?

Answer:

 Upon completion of the preliminary analysis plan, the features of the Old Court Building and the Former Judiciary Police Building will be preserved, while new and underground floors will be built, bringing the total number of floors to 11. The building will be divided into three sections, namely a section for the library collection, a public section and a technical support section. In order to promote the sustainable development of the library and to cater to the needs of several generations, the New Central Library project will focus on the library’s flexibility, in terms of its spaces, functions and transit routes. Case studies in Mainland China and overseas will be used as reference and the construction regulations of library buildings will be strictly observed, with a view to offering the city the ideal reading room.

According to the New Macao Central Library project, the library collection will include Macao documents, rare books, special collections, books and periodicals, multimedia material, electronic resources, among other items. Upon completion of the design development, the number of floors of the building, the spatial distribution, the number of functional areas, the number of facilities and equipment, and the type of services and collections available will be more accurately determined.

 What principles will the Macao SAR Government follow to revitalize and reuse the Old Court Building?

Answer:

 The main cultural value of the Old Court Building lies in its architectural and artistic features, which represent the typical style of the era in which it was built. By planning the construction of the New Central Library in the land plot occupied by this building, the Macao SAR Government is responsible for ensuring the preservation of its culturally valuable features and also for highlighting and enhancing them. To this end, the project should fully preserve the Old Court Building, including its unique style and all architectural elements of cultural value, while ensuring that new architectural space and elements will be pursued, bequeathed and developed in terms of architectural arts and urban design. On the other hand, the revitalization and reuse of the building must meet the functional needs of modern central libraries, comply with applicable construction norms and guidelines, as well as to meet the expectations of modern citizens regarding public cultural spaces.

 Regarding the Old Court Building, classified as a monument, what parts of the building does the Macao SAR Government plan to preserve?

Answer:

 The Cultural Affairs Bureau will base on the protection requirements stipulated by the Cultural Heritage Protection Law to develop the New Central Library project. The project ensures the complete preservation of the Old Court Building, including its unique style and all architectural elements of cultural value, including its distinctive façade, roof, structure, pavement and interior spaces.

The Cultural Affairs Bureau will also develop the revitalization project of the Old Court Building, based on the norms and demands of the international community for the revitalization and reuse of heritage buildings, as well as relevant international charters, in order to make the necessary adjustments and thus ensure the protection of the building when it is reused. Upon completion of the New Central Library, the Old Court Building will remain fully intact, which will enhance the positive contribution of the New Central Library building to the cultural development of Macao.

FAQ

FAQ

 現時澳門已經有很多圖書館,為甚麼還要興建新中央圖書館呢?

回覆:

 澳門公共圖書館系統共有17間圖書館,包括了塔石的澳門中央圖書館,實際上是屬於社區圖書館的規模,其館藏量和圖書種類都有限,服務對象主要為所在社區的居民,與新中央圖書館的功能有所分別。

 社區圖書館與中央圖書館有甚麼不同?

回覆:

 社區圖書館植根社區,主要為區內居民服務;而中央圖書館則面向全澳所有人,既提供基本的圖書館服務,同時也肩負着支援社區圖書館、統籌澳門公共圖書館的資源、引領社會發展和保存城市記憶的任務。

 新中央圖書館落成後,其附近的社區圖書館會否停用?

回覆:

 因為兩者的功能不同,故仍會維持現時社區圖書館的運作,服務居民。她們互相協調,發揮互補功用。

 現時的澳門公共圖書館有甚麼局限?新中央圖書館又會帶來甚麼轉變?

回覆:

 因館舍空間不足,現時館藏分散於各間社區圖書館和租用的工業大廈書庫內,不利提供完整的服務,對於讀者造成不便。澳門本地的文獻資料亦只能保存於小型書室內,難以發揮“澳門總書庫"的功能,有望新中央圖書館能解決這些問題。

 越來越多讀者喜歡電子閱讀,為何仍要興建新中央圖書館?

回覆:

 提供紙本或電子閱讀只是圖書館其中一項功能,現代大型圖書館還要兼備文獻保存和修復、參考研究、數碼化、多媒體、文化交流、城市客廳、城市記憶體、展覽、休閒等功能,必須建設一所大型中央圖書館才有可能滿足所需。

 新中央圖書館選址是基於甚麼考量?

回覆:

 澳門特區政府參考了一些國際性的選址指標和研究,考量新中央圖書館宜位於市中心,方便讀者、具備彈性,成為可調整和可持續發展的空間、以方正地段為最實用,有利安排和管理內部功能分區。舊法院大樓除具備以上元素,還具有深厚的歷史意義和文物價值。

 有否考慮舊法院大樓的交通問題?

回覆:

 新中央圖書館所在地段位於市中心,公共交通網絡四通八達,附近有4個公眾停車場(可提供1600個私家車位及770個電單車位),亦有一些商業樓宇以時租形式向外提供停泊位(如新八佰伴、友邦廣場等)及超過30多條巴士線,此外,未來的輕軌站點亦設在附近,交通相對便利。其實交通問題是一個需要整體性解決的問題,並非因為在現時所在地段建設新中央圖書館才會出現。事實上,我們的社會正在發展,是有需要因應這些發展去進行調整的。

 如何估算新中央圖書館的9億興建費用?

回覆:

 新中央圖書館是“優質”但絶非“豪奢”的建設工程,將以簡樸為原則。建造費用之估算主要以澳門公共建設項目的市場價格為基礎,依循專業、客觀的原則,按照澳門特區政府工程2015年每平方米23,000元的建築造價,以及每年約5%的通脹率推算而來,其它如家具、設備等項目的預算,則要待深化設計完成後才能估算。

 新中央圖書館有甚麼設施和館藏?

回覆:

 在完成初研方案後,在保持舊法院大樓及前司法警察局大樓特色,以及興建新樓層的規劃下連同地庫預計共有11層,主要為館藏空間、公共空間和技術支援空間三個部分。同時,為了讓圖書館具有可持續發展之可能性,滿足幾代人的需求,新中央圖書館計劃將特別關注未來在空間、功能與動線方面的設計彈性,積極參考國內外的資料,遵從圖書館建築的嚴謹性,打造城市的理想閱讀空間。

籌劃中的新中央圖書館館藏包括澳門文獻、古籍、特藏、圖書和期刊、電子資源等等,待深化設計完成後,會進一步落實樓層層數、空間分佈、功能區數目、設施數量、服務和館藏種類。

 建築活化和再利用舊法院大樓,澳門特區政府有哪方面的主要考量原則?

回覆:

 舊法院大樓的主要文化價值在於建築本身具有當時時代性的建築藝術特徵。澳門特區政府計劃在該地段建造新中央圖書館,有責任確保相關設計不貶損有關價值特徵,也應對彰顯和弘揚有關價值特徵產生正面作用。為此,有關計劃必須在完整保留所有構成現有建築物獨特風格與文化價值的建築元素及特徵的同時,新的建築空間及元素也必須在建築藝術和城市設計方面對之有所追求、繼承和發展。另一方面,經活化及再利用的建築,除了須滿足新時代的中央圖書館的功能需要,以及現行相關建築法規或指引的現代要求外,亦應切合市民大眾對公共文化空間的時代期望。

 對於被評為文物的舊法院大樓,澳門特區政府打算保留哪些部分?

回覆:

 文化局將嚴格按照《文化遺產保護法》的規定對舊法院大樓進行保護,並在此基礎上進行新中央圖書館的規劃。故此,舊法院大樓將不會被拆除,且會完整保留所有構成現有建築物獨特風格與文化價值的建築元素及特徵,包括其立面及屋頂、結構和樓板,以及具特色的內部空間等等。

此外,文化局將根據國際社會對文物建築活化利用的準則和要求,以及相關國際憲章,對舊法院大樓進行活化規劃,進行合適的調整與保護利用。日後新中央圖書館建成後,市民仍將可以看到完整的舊法院大樓,以及對澳門文化發展方面發揮着積極意義的新中央圖書館建築。