New Central Library Project

New Central Library Project

The library is the cultural business card of a city. In order to promote the sustainable development of Macao culture, encourage literacy and consolidate the cornerstone of the humanities, the Macao SAR Government has defined the construction of a New Central Library as an important initiative to create a cultural space, which will become a cultural landmark in Macao after completion of the project.

The New Central Library will be established in the area currently occupied by the Old Court Building and the Former Judiciary Police Building in the city centre of Macao, located at the east entrance of the Historic Centre of Macao. The area thus has great cultural and historical significance.

In response to the needs of urban development and the diversification of reading demands, the New Central Library will be a sustainable cultural space covering several functional areas, including spaces for cultural exchange, urban hall, urban memory, exhibition hall, artistic creation, leisure, etc.

 

 

  1. Brief Introduction to the Project
    • According to the New Macao Central Library project, the architectural features of the Old Court Building and the Former Judiciary Police Building will be preserved, while new and underground floors will be built, bringing the total number of floors to 11. The building will be divided into three sections, namely a section for the library collection, a public section and a technical support section, thus providing a space for integrated reading services.
    • According to preliminary estimates, the budget for the construction of the New Central Library is 900 million patacas, but a more accurate budget will be revealed upon completion of the design development. The public works departments will monitor the project in accordance with the usual supervisory mechanism for large-scale public works, in order to prevent cost overruns and postponements.
    • The New Central Library, as the core of Macao’s public library network, will coordinate the resources of public libraries and introduce a variety of applied technologies and new ideas to support the service of the community libraries.
      There are currently 17 public libraries under the Cultural Affairs Bureau, categorized as community libraries in terms of their scale, which are spread over five districts to serve residents and to provide access to library facilities and materials.
       
  2. Basic Concepts
    • The New Macao Central Library building will be established in the plot located at no. 459, Avenida da Praia Grande and no. 1-9, Rua Central, as well as an adjacent plot at Avenida da Praia Grande. In accordance with the provisions of Law No. 11/2013 (Cultural Heritage Protection Law), the plot encompasses two independent buildings, including the Old Court Building, classified as a “building of architectural interest”, and the Former Judiciary Police Building, which is part of a heritage buffer zone.

    • Given the classification of the Old Court Building as a “building of architectural interest”, the Cultural Affairs Bureau will base on the protection requirements stipulated by the Cultural Heritage Protection Law  to develop the New Central Library project. The project ensures the complete preservation of the Old Court Building, including its unique style and all architectural elements of cultural value, while also ensuring that new architectural space and elements will be pursued, bequeathed and developed in terms of architectural arts and urban design. The maximum building height shall not exceed 53m above sea level. Upon completion of the New Central Library, the Old Court Building will remain fully intact, which will enhance the positive contribution of the New Central Library building to the cultural development of Macao.

    • By selecting the best architectural planning, the future New Central Library will become an excellent case study in the field of organic combination and harmonious dialogue between ancient and modern buildings.

      Illustrations of the alternative proposals are as follows. Concrete design will be developed by the design team in the future:
  3. Work Stages
    Stage Year Items

    1st
    Schematic Design

    2006-2010
    • Public consultation and preliminary studies
    • Site selection and organization of an architectural concept design competition (the result of the competition was subsequently cancelled)
    2010-2012
    • Implementation of the first stage preliminary planning (on Old Court Building).

    2nd
    Schematic Design

    2013-2015
    • Merging of the first stage (Old Court Building) and second stage (Former Judiciary Police Building) to an overall planning.
    Design Development 2016-2019
    • Starting of the design development

新中央图书馆计划

新中央图书馆计划

图书馆是一座城市的文化名片,为使澳门文化永续发展,推动知识普及,巩固人文基石,澳门特区政府把新中央图书馆的筹建定为一项重要的文化建设工作,落成后将会是澳门的一座文化地标。

新中央图书馆选址于澳门巿中心的旧法院大楼和前司法警察局大楼的地段内,位于世界遗产澳门歷史城区的东侧入口处,文化底蕴深厚,歷史意涵丰富。

因应城市发展的需要与阅读需求多元化的趋势,新中央图书馆将会是一个可持续发展的文化空间,具有文化交流、城市客厅、城市记忆体、展览、启发创意、休闲等功能。

 

 

  1. 计划简介
    • 筹划中的新中央图书馆在保持旧法院大楼和前司法警察局大楼建筑特色的大前提下,兴建新楼层及地库预计共有11层的空间,主要分为馆藏空间、公共空间和技术支援空间三部分,构建综合性的閲读服务空间。
    • 按初研规划估算,新中央图书馆的建造价为9亿澳门元,在开展深化设计之后,会有更准确的预算。工务部门会按一般大型公共工程的监督机制去跟进工程,防止出现超支和延期等情况。
    • 新中央图书馆将是澳门公共图书馆网络的核心,统筹公共图书馆的资源,引进各种应用技术与新思维,支援社区图书馆的服务。
      目前文化局辖下的公共图书馆共有17间,分佈在五个地区,服务区内居民,提供各项图书馆设施和阅览服务,属于社区图书馆的规模。
       
  2. 基本概念
    • 本项目位于澳门南湾大马路459号,龙嵩正街1-9号及位于邻近南湾大马路之土地地段。根据第11/2013号法律《文化遗产保护法》之相关规定,该地段现存有两座独立的建筑物,当中包括属于被评定为“具建筑艺术价值的楼宇”的旧法院大楼,以及属于缓冲区的前司法警察局大楼。

    • 考虑到旧法院大楼属于被评定的“具建筑艺术价值之楼宇”,文化局将严格按照《文化遗产保护法》的规定对其进行保护,并在此基础上进行新中央图书馆的规划。其中,旧法院大楼将不会拆除,并会完整保留所有构成现有建筑物独特风格与文化价值的建筑元素及特徵,同时,新的建筑空间及元素也必须在建筑艺术和城市设计方面对之有所追求、继承和发展。而新建筑物之最大许可高度将不会超过海拔53米。新中央图书馆建成后,市民仍将可以看到完整的旧法院大楼,以及对本澳文化发展方面发挥着积极意义的新中央图书馆建筑。

    • 通过选取最佳的建筑设计方案,日后新中央图书馆建成后,将成为歷史及现代建筑有机结合和谐对话的良好建筑案例。

      备选方案的概念示意图如下,未来将由设计团队具体设计:
  3. 工作阶段
    阶段 年份 事项
    前期规划 2006-2010
    • 进行前期的公众谘询、研究
    • 决定选址和举办概念设计邀请赛(后取消赛果)
    2010-2012
    • 执行第一期(旧法院大楼)初研规划
    正式规划 2013-2015
    • 合併第一期(旧法院大楼)和第二期(前司法警察局大楼)进行整体规划
    深化设计 2016-2019
    • 开展深化设计工作